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Imperial Sunset 
Addenda as of Nov. 18th 2006 

 
The Rules: 
 
5.3 US Activation Markers. See next page below an 
“unofficial” variant for the USN and IJN Activation 
markers. 
 
6.5.4 CAP (clarification). Air units on CAP are flipped to 
their Exhausted side (not placed in an Exhausted 
space/box as mentioned in the rule). 
 
6.5.9 Japanese Air Fleets (correction). The rule should 
read north (not west) of the 2500 hex row. The legend 
and Japanese Air Fleet indicators are correct as depicted 
on the map. 
 
7.2 IJN Detection (clarification). A DR result of 1-4 on 
the IJN Detection Results table is treated as No Detection 
vs. an already Detected TF. With such a result the 
already detected TF becomes undetected. 
 
Sample Naval Unit and 8.0 (clarification). The naval unit 
Protection Factor (PF) is not used in the present version 
of the game. During play testing this was dropped 
(originally the PF was subtracted from the attacker’s 
attack factor). However, there is a variant that is being 
worked on and will be released once it is proven to work 
with more play testing. My apologies for not getting this 
clarification regarding the PF into the rules. See below 
and stay tuned! 
 
8.3.1 Deployment for Surface Combat (clarification). 
US units are turned face-up (unfired) after the Japanese 
ships are deployed and before the first battle round is 
played. 

 
10.4 Japanese Submarine Attack (correction). The 
Japanese player’s DR modifier is -1 (not -2). 
 
11.2 PT Boats (correction). The hex reference for the 
set-up of the PT Boat unit should be 3521 (not 3308) 
 
13.1.1 Japanese Set Up (corrections): Japanese TF set 
up as follows (the hex numbers are from the playtest, and 
not the final, version of the map. For some reason the 
final edits didn’t make it to the printers): Force A in 3009, 
Force B in 3009, Force C in 4010, Shima Force in 3410, 
Reinforcement Force in 2512, Transport Group in 4120, 
Destroyer Div 21 in 2512. 
 
13.1.2 Japanese Reinforcements (correction). The 
Ozawa TF enters between hexes 1015 and 1028 
(inclusive), not 1023-1030. 
 
The Counters. The following USN units have some 
minor spelling issues: 

• St. Lo (not St. Louis) 
• Gambier (not Gambler) Bay 
• Intrepid (not Entrepid) 
• Clarification: The BB Dakota is the South 

Dakota 
 
The following counters have incorrect factors: 

• CVL Ryuho MF is 3 /4 (not4/5) 
• BB Haruna, fired side, MF should be 3 /4 (not 

4/6) 
• USN CVE units Taffy 1/ 2, 2/2, 3/2, fired side, MF 

should be 2/ 3 (not 3/ 4). 
 
The Ship Damage Logs. Both the IJN and USN damage 
logs have goofs on them. Download the corrected copies 
here in our header area or off of our website. 
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More Imperial Sunset Ideas 
 

14.7 Variant Damage Control Rule (un-official) 
The following rule adds another degree of realism to the 
game, but does slightly increase the “wristage factor.” 
 
Any time one or more hits are scored on the Damage 
Table the owning player rolls a die. Add 1 to the DR for 
each of the following (use all that apply): 

• Damage resulted from a Kamikaze attack. 
• Damage resulted to a carrier (any type) from any 

air unit attack (in addition to the DRM for 
Kamikaze if applicable). 

• Damage resulted to a Destroyer or Cruiser (any 
type) from a torpedo or submarine attack (not 
from PT boat attack). 

• Damage results from any battleship attack upon 
any other non-battleship type naval unit. 

• Damage resulted from attacks by the Battleships 
Yamato or Musashi. 

• Damage resulted from hit by an enemy naval unit 
6 to 10 columns away on the Naval Battle Board. 
Note: +2 to the DR if damage resulted from hit by 
an enemy naval unit 5 or less columns away on 
the Naval Battle Board. 

 
Note: The above DRMs are the subject for play testing 
and may be modified/discarded before becoming 
“official.” 
 
The modified DR is compared to the ship’s Protection 
Factor (PF):  

• Modified DR < half of the ship’s PF (round up if a 
fraction). Any and all hits from the attack have no 
effect and are NOT marked off of the ship’s 
damage log. 

• Modified DR greater than half and less than the 
ship’s PF. One hit is applied (any others are 
ignored) and marked off of the ship’s damage 
log. 

• Modified DR is > ship’s PF but less than or equal 
to 10. All hits are applied and marked off of the 
ship’s damage log. 

• Modified DR is more than 10 and the ship’s PF 
(Note: The DR must be 3 or more higher than the 
PF for a BB in the latter case, otherwise treat as 
the result immediately above). Catastrophic 
damage. Half of the ship’s remaining spaces on 
its damage log are marked off (round any fraction 
up).  

 
14.8 Bonus Activations. Both players can activate units 
more than once in a turn with the USN and IJN Activation 
Markers (AM). Use of this variant rule supersedes 
Section 4.3. 
 
14.8.1 USN AM. The US player adds the USN AM to the 
opaque container during the Initial Phase, but only on 
turns only after the Ozawa TF is first spotted and/or the 
Wild Bull Table results of DR 1 through 8 have been met 
(if the Wild Bull Table is in play).  
 
When the USN AM is drawn any one US TF, or US ships 
in one map hex, may conduct a “bonus” move (and then 
conduct combat if able to do so). The USN AM is not 
counted (ignored) if it is the FIRST or LAST AM for either 
side drawn for the turn (i.e., it has no effect before or after 
any/all other AM are selected).  
 
14.8.2 IJN AM. The Japanese player adds the IJN AM to 
the opaque container during the Initial Phase on turns the 
IJN Fanaticism Rule is in effect (Case 13.1.5.2). The IJN 
AM allows a TF to perform a “bonus” move (and then 
conduct surface combat if able to do so). The only TF 
that may activate are ones that have at least one BB or 
CA unit. Individual Japanese ships, and any TF with a CV 
or CVL, may not activate with the IJN AM.  
 
The IJN AM is removed from play once the provisions of 
Case 13.1.5.2 are no longer in effect. Unlike the US AM, 
the IJN AM is not ignored if it is the first or last AM drawn 
for the turn while it is in play (as is the case with the USN 
AM). 
 
 


