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A Gate of Hell 
 
The Rules: 
 
Section 2.2, Activation (correction): Units that are not allocated 
MSPs are rotated 90 degrees (Rule 3.1.2 is correct) and not marked 
with a Committed -1 marker. 
 
The reference to unexpended MSPs earning VPs for the Confederate 
player can be ignored (this was dropped during play testing but this 
erroneous rules text was not). 
 
Section 3.3 End Phase, third bullet (correction): Union naval units 
in a navigable river area adjacent to a land area occupied by Confed-
erate ground units must also return to Port Royal or Cape Hatteras 
(this brings the wording of this rule into compliance with 7.2.7). 
 
Rule 4.2.1 MSP Costs (clarification): As per Rule 4.2.1, a player 
expends 1 MSP to put "in command" any 5 of his naval units or any 1 
Formation (see Section 2.2, Formation). Then per Rule 4.2.2, the "in 
command" units/formations (only) can move, attack or do any of the 
listed actions, in the Operations Phase with the expenditure of 1 
additional MSP (see also Rule 4.2.4). To perform any of the actions 
listed in 4.2.2 for a second time, then per Rule 5.1.5, 1 additional 
MSP is needed per formation/unit. 
 
Rule 4.2.1, second bullet (correction): The reference to Section 7.6 
should instead be to 9.6. 
 
Rule 4.2.1, fourth bullet (correction): This bullet should read 1 
Mine/Obstruction and 1 Dummy (not 2 of each) can be deployed. 
 
Rule 4.2.2, third bullet (correction): The reference to 5.3.3 should 
instead be to 7.3. 
 
Module 6.0 (omission): The header itself for this Module, i.e., "6.0 
Stacking", failed to print. There was no other text associated with it. 
 
Rule 6.2.1 (correction): Up to 2 (not 5) naval units and 1 ground unit 
may occupy the Area. 
 
Module 7.0 Movement (clarification): Map areas without a design-
ation cannot be entered or crossed except per the first bullet of 8.2.6. 
 
Rule 7.2.2 River Movement (correction): Ignore the word “only” at 
the start of the second line (as per Section 7.3 Union ground units 
using amphibious movement can move along navigable rivers). 
 
Section 7.3 Amphibious Movement (clarification): Union units 
must end amphibious movement in a ground area or be returned to 
Port Royal or Cape Hatteras. The Union player cannot leave them 
“out there” at sea. 
 
Module 8.0 Bombardment Attack Example (correction): The 
Nahant’s CF should be 1 (not 0). The rest of the example, including 
the combat DR result is correct. 
 
 

Rules 8.1.3 and 8.1.4 (correction): Each player rolls 2d6 in an 
Assault as per the Assault combat example in the rules-book. 
 
8.2.3 (clarification): Each activated fort or naval unit can conduct 
one bombardment attack against any enemy unit in the same or 
adjacent area. 
 
Rule 9.2.4 (correction). A fort can be rebuilt in a contested area (this 
makes the rule compliant with Rule 8.2.5 that is correct). 
 
Module 11.0 (correction): The third sentence should, of course say, 
“The Confederate player always sets up first followed by the Union 
player.” 
 
Rule 11.3.2 (correction): Evans’ Brigade only has 4 units (not 5). 
 
Rule 11.3.3 (addition): Also do not include the ironclad Mohawk 
(discard this unit). 
 
 
The PAC: 
 
MSP Allocation/Costs Table (correction): Allocation Phase, the 
fourth bullet for “1” should read that 1 Mine/Obstruction and 1 Dummy 
(not 2 of each) can be deployed. 
 
MSP Allocation/Costs Table (correction): Operations Phase, the 
fourth bullet for “1” should read the reference is Section 7.3 (and not 
Rule 5.3.3). 
 
Sequence of Play (correction): In the second line of the regular font 
text the second "of" should be "or". 
 
 
The Map: 
 
The Union Port Royal and The Islands map zones are not used in the 
standard game and disregard the text printed there. This is holdover 
text from the play test version of the game, but will reference future 
variants. 
 
 
 
 
All or Nothing 
 
Rule 4.1 (clarification): A player can always elect to do fewer (or 
nothing) with any activations received. Doing nothing means the 
player has essentially "passed" for that card draw. 
 
Rule 8.1 (correction): Note that there are six PA militia units in the 
game (not eight). A CD of 1 (Ace) through 5 determines how many 
enter. A CD of 6 through 8, or a face CD, means all six PA militia 
units enter the game. 
 


