
“Almost a Miracle!” 
Addenda as of Dec. 1, 2023 

 
The Rules: 
 
3.0 Sequence of Play, B) Attrition Phase (addition): Add “British 
Forces at Sea Attrition (see Case 5.4.3).” to the bulleted list here. 
 
3.0 Sequence of Play, G) Special Siege Resolution Phase (cor-
rection): Change “last turn of the game” to “October 1781 turn” and 
reference this with “Section 13.4 and 16.3” 
 
4.7.6 Final Assault (clarification): In case of a tie die roll the de-
fender wins. 
 
5.1, 5.2, and 5.3 Attrition (clarification): When calculating a dou-
bled attrition result, first round, and then double. For example, a 
force of 3 SPs suffers double attrition. If you roll 60%, first take 60% 
of 3 which is 1.8, round to 1, and then double to 2. 
 
5.4.1a. (clarification): Magazines do not extend supply across 
water crossings except for the four crossing arrows around New 
York City (these are considered to be connected by roads and 
subject to the rules as written). 
 
5.4.2 (clarification): When N < 0, do not roll for Leader attrition. 
 
5.4.4 (clarification): When resolving winter attrition, include the 
start and stop areas when finding the lowest value supply rating of 
all the areas moved through. 
 
10.0 Movement (clarification): Movement Point costs are not 
cumulative. For example, moving across a River into a Wilderness 
area costs 4 MPs, not 6 MPs. 
 
10.1.4 Using a Water Crossing Arrow (addition): Perform a re-
treat over a water crossing arrow the same way you do to move 
across it (roll < 5 on 1d6, or automatic if a Leader with engineering 
ability is present). 
 
10.1.6 Transit Area (clarification): Units must start such a move 
in an area adjacent to the Transit Area, to enter the Transit Area. 
 
10.5.6 (clarification): Leaders (alone) can use sea movement. A 
single Leader (without troops) could embark, and land the next turn. 
Multiple Leaders (without troops) could embark, and land the next 
turn, at separate destinations, in separate endeavors. Two Leaders 
could not embark from separate ports in the same endeavor. 
 
10.5.6 (clarification): Once At Sea, flip the Leader to indicate he’s 
“Moved” 
 
10.5.8 (clarification): A Baggage Train alone by itself is not con-
sidered a "force" as it has no SPs. So it could still be placed At Sea 
even if there is already a force At Sea. 
 
10.5.12 Port Availability (clarification): Note this rule defines how 
a Force can be required to remain At Sea due to ice or a repulse. 
 
10.5.13 Evacuation (omission): This rule was accidentally drop-
ped from the final manuscript and should be as follows: 

When the besieger decides to perform a final assault on a port un-
der siege, the besieged player can preemptively decide (before the 
final assault is resolved) to Naval evacuate from the port if he con-
trols the Sea. The British can evacuate all the Leaders and up to 
100 SPs minus the losses as detailed below) from the port into the 
"Sea Box". They will suffer 1 SP loss for every 10 SPs of the be-

siegeer that are performing the "Final Assault". The besieger suf-
fers 1 SP loss for every 20 SPs in the besieged force. 
 
10.6.1 a) Movement (clarification): For this rule, “waterways” in-
clude rivers and lakes, but not the ocean or sounds. 
 
10.7 (correction) Change “If a British force containing regulars 
enters a colony where previously there were no British Regulars,” 
to “If a British force containing regulars enters a colony where there 
are currently no British Regulars”. 
 
11.5.4 Catastrophe, 1st and 2nd bullets (correction): Please 
replace the first two bullets with this single bullet: 
• A Major Victory (as detailed above) has occurred for the winner 
while in a Wilderness or Mountain Area and the losing player’s 
forces has 50+ SPs with no supply wagon or magazine in the Area. 
(The other bullets still stand as is.) 
 
12.1 Recruiting Procedure (clarification): A maximum of one 
Leader per turn can recruit in a specific recruiting Area. 
 
14.1 French Intervention (correction/clarification): “Marker” 
should be “Markers”. There are the blue markers “Y” and “M” which 
indicate the year and month of French intervention and should be 
adjusted as per the rules when required. 
 
18.0 British Reinforcement Schedule: 
July 1776 (changes): Cornwallis and his 30 SPs now arrive in the 
"At Sea" box rather than at New York City. They can either remain 
“At Sea” (and suffer attrition) or land at the area of their choice. The 
4 SP (P) units set up in Staten Island now arrive in August, 1776. 
 
18.0 Continental Reinforcement Schedule: 
July 1780 (omission): Add Leader “Rochambeau” to French 
forces arriving in July 1780. 

 
The Map: 
Ignore the references to “Small Pox” on the Turn Track. 
 
Area N52 should be labeled “NE52” 
 
The “Transit Area” should have a Supply Level of “2” 

 
The Countermix: 
The counter mix is not the limit as it is in TQ. It’s OK to use a spare 
marker from another game (a strength point loss counter, or even 
pennies) to indicate additional losses with a force in an Area. It’s 
suggested that no more than three additional spares per type (NJ 
Militia, NY Militia, etc.) be allowed – the design team does not want 
players to have the ability to place a 1 SP unit in every area. 

 
The PAC: 
 
In General: 
Ignore all references on the charts to Floods when solely playing 
AaM. Floods can still appear when playing the AaM/TQ combined 
game however. 
 
Sequence of Play 
First bullet (correction): Change the text to: “British forces at Sea 
Attrition (5.4.3) 
Second bullet (correction): Change the text to: “Foraging Attrition 
(5.4.1c) 



Casualty Determination Table 
Higher result bullet (addition): Add to the end of the sentence: 
“minus the difference between the higher and lower totals”. 
 
Lower result bullet (correction): Eliminate 1 SP for every ten (or 
fraction of ten) SPs the opponent had in the battle plus the differ-
ence between the high and low totals. 
 
Endeavor Random Event Table 
(corrections):The reference to Section 8.4 should be 8.3. For entry 
1, the cited case should be (8.3.4). 
 
Foraging Attrition Table 
(correction): Delete reference to Leader “Tryon” in the “12+” row. 
 
Round Up vs. Round Down (discrepancy): Note the Table says 
to round down whereas in the designer’s examples the results were 
rounded up. However, round down is correct – a change for con-
sistency for all game calculations was made during playtesting to 
round all fractions down. 
 
Example: Attrition calculation example: Say there are 50 SPs in 
Halifax, SL = 16. 50 SPs / 16 = 3.125, rounded down to 3. “N” is 
equal to 3. Die roll is 9, which yields a result of 70% times N. 70% x 
3 = 2.1, rounded down to 2. 2 SPs are lost. 
Note that the number of attrition casualties calculated can never be 
greater than size of the force. 
 
Terrain Effects Chart: 
Delete the reference to “2 MPs” for mountains”. 
 
Political Events Table: 
(clarification): All "European Adventurers" and related events/SPs 
apply to the Continentals only. 


