
Pocket Battle Games from ATO 
Consolidated Addenda as of Nov. 15th, 2024 

 
 
In General: All Games 
 
Cards – A drawn Ace always equal a “1” for any purpose. 
 
Activation - Clarification: At start, or when a joker is drawn and 
the deck is shuffled, it really makes no difference who draws the 
first card. Either side makes the next move based on the color of 
the card that is drawn. 
 
Unless a specific game’s rules state otherwise (like Stand at Mor-
tain below), a unit may only Activate once per a specific Card 
Draw (CD). The same unit may Activate more than once in a turn 
however, using different CDs over the course of the turn. 
 
Note: Some expansion rules for Stand at Mortain, Some Poles 
Apart, and Showtime Hanoi were published in ATO issue #23. 
 
 

#1 Stand at Mortain 
Activation – Reiteration: Previously Activated units may be 
selected to be Activated again. So if the CD was an 8, a player 
could activate the same unit four times, and move it one hex per 
Activation. 
 
Movement - Clarification: Both sides may stack their own units 
together, up to two to a hex (plus the German Tiger unit may 
stack freely with other German units). US and German units may 
never be in the same hex. 
 
Movement - Clarification: No Germans start on the map. On their 
first activation of Turn 1, they may enter a hex along the east 
edge of the map as their move. The same is true of US 
reinforcements along the west edge, starting on Turn 2. 
 
Combat - Clarification: When using the Allied air unit to "impose a 
+1 Combat modifier on all German units in a hex, and all adjacent 
hexes, for the remainder of the turn," it means those hexes are 
"interdicted" by the attack. The penalty is imposed on any 
German units in those hexes when they make an attack (even if 
they weren't originally present when the air attack was made). 
 
 

#2 Some Poles Apart 
Turn Begins - Clarification: Only the German player can use a 
face card to restore a weakened unit to its strong side. The Polish 
player can only Activate all units in one area with a red face card, 
or pass. 
 
Turn Begins - Clarification: 6th sentence should read; "Activated 
units (including the BB) can:” 
 
Turn Begins - Clarification: The BB is limited to one sea space 
per Activation. 
 
Combat - Clarification: 5th sentence should read; "Indicate up to 
two ground units firing (max.) or the BB, and the single target 
unit."  
 
Combat - Clarification: The BB cannot combine fire with any 
other unit. 
 

Combat - Example: German draws a black 8 card allowing 4 
Activations. He has two units in H and two units in I. He could 
attack a single Polish unit in K twice, using any combination of 
two units from his own in H or I, or just Activate one unit 4 times 
and attack each time (or any combo thereof). But no more than 
two ground units can join together and fire at a single target. 
 
German Air and OBA Markers - Clarification: When Activating 
either the OBA or the Air unit, the choice is "Activate either the 
OBA or the Air Unit, OR some ground units" and NOT that “the 
OBA or Air Unit counts as one of the units Activated.” 
 
German Air and OBA Markers - Clarification: Air and OBA 
strikes are not affected by an area’s terrain modifier. Variant 
Rule: Air and Artillery Strikes are not affected by an area’s terrain 
modifier only if there is a German unit adjacent to the targeted 
area; otherwise the area’s terrain modifier does apply. 
 
Who Wins - Change: Alter the last sentence “Germans win if by 
the last turn…” to say “Germans win if at the end of any turn…” 
 
 

#3 Showtime Hanoi 
Activation - Example: A player draws a 6 card in his color and 
thus has 3 APs. A single AC could move forward two squares (2 
APs) AND fire once (1 AP) using that single card draw. 
 
Activation - Clarification: If a player draws two of his side’s color 
cards in a row, his AC still cannot fire twice in a row. The game 
does not permit a carryover end move from the previous Action 
Phase to "count" towards the requirement an AC move at least 1 
square or change level before attacking. The prerequisite stated 
in the first sentence of the Air Combat rules to first move before 
firing still applies. So your options are: 

 move-fire  
 climb-fire  
 dive-fire  

Note that in the last two cases above, your AC will not leave the 
square it is in, but is considered to have moved none the less, 
fulfilling the requirement to do so before firing. 
 
 
 

#4 Morgan’s A’Comin’! 
Raiding – Clarification: A location can be raided more than once 
earning VPs each time (but it can be risky to stay in one place 
long enough to do so). The Governor can only flee once per 
game so the 3 VPs for that can only be claimed once as well. 
Subsequent raids against Columbus earn 1 VP only. 
 
 
 

#5 The Toast of the Town 
Combat - Correction: The actual combat resolution procedure 
should be: 
  1.) Designate attacking and defending units and draw a card. 
  2.) Subtract (not add) attacking unit's CF.  
  3.) Add (not subtract) defending unit's CF. 
  4.) Use all applicable modifiers listed. 
If the modified CD number is less than or equal to the attacking 
CF the target unit is flipped over to its reduced side (an already 
reduced unit is eliminated).  



#6 Thru 9: The Peiper Quad 
Clarification: There are no bridges on the map for PBG #9 so just 
ignore the bridge demolition rules listed for that game. 
 
Note that there is a single 40 piece block of counters (called “Just 
a Peiper Dream”) that is used for all four games. Just select the 
ones you need for the specific PBG game you’re playing. 
 
Download the link rules to combine all four Peiper games a 
campaign game from the ATO website here and looking to the 
lower right. 
 
http://www.atomagazine.com/freegame.cfm 
 
 
 

#10 La Garde Recule! 
No addenda to date. 
 
 
 

#11 The Union Forever 
No addenda to date. 
 
 
 

#12 Operation Cerberus 
6. Air Attacks - Clarification: Note that use of the Bomber Ju-88 
side of the marker always increases the current LAC by +1, even 
if it is already at 3. After resolving an air attack on British naval 
unit(s) flip the Bomber Ju-88 marker back over to its normal front 
side (the one that reads Luftwaffe Air Cover). 
 
6. AA Attacks - Correction: Air units are damaged if the die roll is 
less than or equal to the AA value, not just less than. 
 
6. Air Attacks - Discrepancy: There is a difference between the 
postcard rules and the deluxe game rules with regards to resolv-
ing Air Attacks. The postcard rule states that hits are achieved 
with a DR < to the attacking unit’s CF and is correct. The deluxe 
rules state it must simply be < the attacking unit’s CF, and that is 
wrong. 
 
 
 

#13 Thru 16: The Leipzig Quad 
Note that there is a single 40 piece block of counters (called “A 
Bridge Too Few”) that is used for all four of the base Pocket 
Battle Games. Just select the ones you need as listed in the set 
up for the specific PBG game you’re playing. 
 
All Games, Combat Rules -- Clarification: Units may not freely 
advance after combat. A player will need to use an ACT to move 
a unit into the hex if so desired. 
 
Download the A Bridge Too Few link rules to combine all four 
Leipzig games into a campaign game from ATO’s website here 
and look to the lower right.: 
 
http://www.atomagazine.com/freegame.cfm 
 
A Bridge Too Few Addenda (first printing) 
Rule 7.0, Case “c” - Correction: Change to say “In any one com-
bat, add +1 to any one unit’s CF.” 
 
Random Events: Rain - Correction: In the third line “MF” should 
instead read “MV”.  

#17 Surrender Unto Caesar! 
The Counters - Discrepancy: On some copies of the mounted 
counter sheet, the reverse side of the Vercingetorix counter has 
an extraneous “+” sign on it and is missing his name. The counter 
on the postcard is correct. Use the counter supplied as is or use 
the image below from the postcard to supplement the mounted 
counter. 
 

 
 
Rules—Assault Marker Placement. If the DR is < GRL the 
Assault Marker is placed (less than or equal to, not just equal to).  
 
 

#18 Behold a Pale Glider 
No addenda to date. 
 
 
 

#19 Not Men But Devils 
No addenda to date. 
 
 
 

#20 Imua! 
No addenda to date. 
 
 
 

#21 Through #25 “Five for Fighting” Series 
All Games, First Printing, Combat Rules – Correction: On the 
first printing of each of the five games, the CD modifiers for units 
attacking were all accidentally reversed. Use the following CD 
modifiers for infantry and armor and AT units that attack: 
 Infantry attacking a target in a non-adjacent hex: -1 to CD 
 Armor attacking a target in an adjacent hex: +1 to CD 
 German AT units attacking an armor target at any range: +1 

to CD 
 
Download the Tuesday the Führer Slept Late link rules to com-
bine all Five for Fighting games into a campaign game from 
ATO’s website here: 
 
http://www.atomagazine.com/freegame.cfm 
 
and look to the lower right. 
 
 
 

#26 Goto Hell! 
COMBAT - Clarification: Units may fire along the line between 
two hexes if only one of them is a hill or forest that would other-
wise block the LOS. 
 
Expansion Rules, Japanese OBA – Correction. The expansion 
rules for the game should say the Japanese OBA has an AT/AI 
value of 2 (not 3). Note that the expansion counter is printed 
correctly. 
 
 
 

#27 Barring the Gate 
No addenda to date. 



#28 Mad Dash: Operation Kita 
First Printing, The Rules – Addition: Surface combat is pretty 
rare in the game. If you need to, then during Step 6 of the 
Sequence of Play, Japanese BB, CA, CL and DD units may 
attack the RAN DD (but not subs) if both sides are in the same 
area. Each ship may attack once and does so individually by first 
selecting a target and rolling 1D6. If the DR is < to the attacking 
unit’s CF the target unit is reduced; if it is already reduced it is 
eliminated. A DR > the attacking unit’s CF is No Effect. Similarly, 
the RAN DD may attack any Japanese ships in the same area as 
it is during Step 7 using the same procedure. 
 
 
 

#29 Grant Me Night…or Blücher! 
No addenda to date. 
 
 
 

#30 Mind the GUIK! 
No addenda to date. 
 
 
 

#31 Guarding the Land 
No addenda to date. 
 
 

#32 Masterpiece 
No addenda to date. 
 


