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The Two-Player Game Rules: 
 
5.1 Turn & Phase Sequence 
(correction): The entries II. and III. on the Sequence of Play 
should each have 2 asterisks at the end, not just one indicat-
ing the Allied player determines the US move – fight order. 
 
5.3 Operation Causeway Launched: Effects 
 
Case 1 (correction): The cross reference at the end of this 
case should say, “Also see Section 5.5.” and not 5.9. 
 
Case 2 (correction): Cross reference in the second sen-
tence should say, “(Section 10.14)” and not “(Section 5.8)”. 
 
7.1 Japanese Supply 
(correction): Hex for Kaifeng should be 1901, not 1091. 
 
The Map: 
 
Turn Record Chart: The two end game entries on the Turn 
Record Chart are reversed. Turn 9 should say the game 
ends if Causeway is NOT launched (4.2). Turn 12 should 
say the game ends if Causeway IS launched (4.3). 
 
 
The Counters: 
 
The 0-4-0 static Japanese 2nd Armored Division is erron-
eously shown with a corps-sized symbol (XXX). A corrected 
counter was supplied in all copies of ATO #56 or you can 
use the images below to make your own corrected piece: 
 

The Solitaire Game Rules: 
 
5.1 Generate Strategic Points and 11.3 The US Invasion 
of Formosa 
(discrepancy): There is a discrepancy between Section 5.1 
and Section 11.3. Ignore the second paragraph of 11.3 and 
use the rules in 5.1. 
   
9.7 Chinese Unit Movement 
(change): During Chinese Movement, stacks move toward 
the nearest Japanese stack (or MC). Moving to retake an 
airbase hex, even if further away, will have priority above 
this. 
 
10.1 Determine Combatants 
(clarification): During combat, if a Chinese unit is adjacent 
to 2 or more Japanese stacks, randomly choose which one 
to attack except the Chinese must always try to retake an 
Japanese occupied airbase hex first. Note that each Japan-
ese stack may attack only once per combat phase (Section 
10.1, second paragraph). However, if a second (or addition-
al) Japanese stack(s) is adjacent to that hex and Chinese 
units remain, the second (or additional) Japanese stack(s) 
may attack those remaining Chinese units. 
 
11.0 Determination Phase 
(clarification): When the Japanese player loses an airbase 
from a Chinese attack and later retakes it, it only counts as a 
"capture" again if the Chinese occupied the airbase in the 
interval, otherwise not. 
 
11.5 Chinese Army Recovery 
(clarification): When a stack spawns a new unit that must 
go in an adjacent hex, it may be placed next to a Japanese 
unit, or even at an adjacent airbase hex previously captured 
by the Japanese that no longer has Japanese units on it. 
 
12.1 Tank Blitz Stratagem 
(clarification): Note that spending a SP for the Tank Blitz 
Stratagem will indeed double a stack's operational move-
ment from 3 MPs to 6 MPs, so it is technically possible to 
capture an unoccupied airbase (costs 3 MPs to enter) even 
after spending 3 MPs or less in movement. 
 
12.6 Emperor’s Pride 
(clarification): As the Japanese player you can choose the 
Japanese units to bring back. 
 
 
 
 


