
Apocalypse in the East and Balck Friday 
Combined Addenda as of Mar. 1, 2020 

 
Apocalypse in the East 
 

The Map: 
Land and Sea hexes (clarification): Some hexes (like 1440) are con-
sidered both land and sea, but land units may not cross to/from Asia 
to/from Europe without sea transport. A Muslim force debarking there 
must declare which side of the straits it is on, Asia or Europe. 
 
Ports (clarification): For places to be considered a port, there must be 
one or more port icons present. 
 
Replacement Cities (correction): Irenopolis should be underlined to 
represent that it is a Fabrica. 
 
Alternate Armenian Boundary (deletion): Ignore the alternate setup 
boundary line in Armenia that runs from 1009 to 2523. This was for a 
proposed scenario in the game that space restrictions precluded. 
 

The Rules: 
Rule 1.3.3 Picked Units (clarification): Note that the “Domestici 
Equites” unit counter is a “picked” unit too, despite its CF being only 1 
(the counter has a second, smaller shield printed on its front and re-
verse as do all other “picked” units). 
 
Rule 2.1.3 Victory Conditions (addition): Control of a hex is deter-
mined by one of the three following conditions in their order: 
1.) The hex is occupied by a player's garrisoning land unit, or; 
2.) Player who solely has a fleet unit in a port hex, or;  
3.) Player who last solely occupied the hex with a land or naval unit. 
 
Section 2.3 Events (clarifications): When the Armenians revolt, the 
rebel units that go into garrison mode do not block Byzantine unit move-
ment. When the Byzantine Expedition arrives in Armenia, it does not 
have to defeat the rebel units, its purpose is to rally the other Armenian 
army units to itself. The remaining rebel Armenian units remain under the 
Muslim player’s control for the remainder of the game.  
 
Section 2.3 Replacements (clarifications): Only Syrian army units can 
be replaced as they are the only regular units the Muslim player has. 
Others (like the Egyptian and Kufa forces) if eliminated are gone for 
good. As long as the Fabricae is friendly to the player, then any 
replacements can be put in that city, with no restrictions. 
(example): An Orientales (Byzantine) unit in the Destroyed box can be 
placed in the Nakhchawan Fabrica hex if it is controlled by the Byzan-
tines. Or if the Muslims control Nicomedia, they can place a previously 
destroyed Syrian unit there. 
 
Section 2.4 Fleet Maintenance (clarification): The number of Anchor 
Symbols (Port Icons) next to a port city denotes how many naval units 
can successfully stay there during the Administration Phase and avoid 
being lost. However, there is no limit to the number of naval units that 
can enter/exit a port city during the course of a turn. Eliminated naval 
units can be replaced. When naval units are lost, they are automatically 
replaced the next year in any friendly port(s), up to the port’s capacity. 
 
Module 3.0 Modes (additions): Add to the end of the paragraph: 
"Muslims perform this first until turn 5. The Byzantine from Turn 6 on-
ward. A unit’s mode (Garrison, Patrol or Expedition) for the turn is deter-
mined during the Administration Phase only. So you cannot move a unit 
to take up Garrison mode in a town or city, then have it join an Expedi-
tion so as to move the unit again. Players can change modes at any 
place on the map (be sure that there is enough stacking capacity in the 
nearby towns and cities). 
 
Case 3.2.4 Patrol ZOCs (clarification): Patrol ZOCs do not extend into 
sea hexes, to ships at sea, or naval landings. 
 
Section 3.3 Expeditions: (change): An Expedition can be formed within 
10 hexes (not MPs) of one of its sides’ controlling cities. 
(omissions): Then add these sentences to this section: 

1. “While an Expedition can only be formed within 10 hexes of an 
indicated city, the units selected to be put into it can be from 
anywhere on the map (no MP limit). Even units in other modes 
may be put into an Expedition.” 

2. “An Expedition may not be formed in enemy occupied hexes.” 
3. “Garrison units in a town/city with a camping enemy Expedition 

therein may not be used to form part of an expedition.” 
4. “Land troops blockaded in besieged towns cannot be part of an 

Expedition (exception: land units in a port town or city besieged 
by land, but not also by sea, can be used.)" 

(clarification): While the rules state a Byzantine Expedition must be 
formed within 10 hexes of Constantinople, note that a player can still 
form one on the Asian side of the narrows (i.e., “across the water”). 
Similarly, Muslin Expeditions must be formed within 10 hexes of 
Damascus or Fustat. So even if the Kufa Expedition disbands, its 
forces can only reform at these two cities. 
 
Rule 3.3.1 Expedition Movement (clarification): While an Expe-
dition cannot “pick up” units (exiting garrisons or newly arrived rein-
forcements) after it forms, it can “drop off” units as it moves without 
having to disband itself. Units in already in garrison mode can move 
up to 10 MPs to another town/city and resume garrison mode as long 
as there are no enemy units there. Enemy garrisons do not block the 
movement of Expeditions through their hexes. 
 
Rule 3.3.4 Disbanding Expeditions (addition): Add to the end of 
the third sentence, "whose hex is not enemy occupied". Disbanded 
units from an Expedition can be placed up to 10 MPs from the last 
hex location of the Expedition, and enemy garrisons do not block 
tracing a path through their hex when counting the 10 MPs. 
 
Module 4.0 Stacking (addition): Players are not allowed to inspect 
enemy stacks, even when units are flipped to their "Garrison" side 
concealing their combat strengths. 
 
Rule 5.1.1 Naval Unit Movement (clarification): Naval units nor-
mally move only when transporting or evacuating units, Empty naval 
units can also move towards a friendly force that needs transporting 
or evacuation. Naval units NOT carrying an Expedition or moving 
towards one, cannot freely roam the map or enter unoccupied enemy 
ports/coastal towns/cities and “capture it”. Surviving units of an Expe-
dition that used sea transport to land atop an enemy Expedition on 
the coast and suffered an AR combat result may be transported back 
out of the hex by the fleets that landed them back to any friendly 
towns or cities within 10 hexes of the battle site. This is a free move 
and costs no MPs. 
 
Rule 5.1.5 Debarking (correction): The first bullet should state: 
"Continue moving during the Movement Phase if they have remain-
ing MPs." 
 
Section 6.3 Combat (clarification): There is no advantage to hav-
ing two or more leaders in an Expedition as a maximum of only one 
Leader (owning player's choice) can affect a single battle. It is pos-
sible to have one Leader that affects land battles and one Leader 
affecting naval battles (which could be an advantage for that Expe-
dition). 
 
Section 8.1 Resolution (additions): If the defender has no ground 
units embarked on the naval units, his naval units are eliminated. 
When a port is captured by enemy land units (only), relocate any 
friendly fleets to the nearest friendly port (free move). Fleets with 
combat units onboard entering a port that has garrisoned enemy 
fleets and successfully sieges and captures the port, also eliminates 
the enemy fleets. 
 
Section 10.1 Procedure (clarification): All Obsequium units set up 
at start in the territory labeled "Obsequium" in the northwest part of 
Asia Minor. 



Balck Friday 
 
 
The Rules: 
 
Module 2.0 (correction): In some printed copies the last line says to use 
three opaque containers, however only one is needed. 
 
Module 7.0 (omission): In some printed copies this section is missing a 
bullet point (should be the second one) for “Fire Combat Only”. 
 
Section 7.1 German Formations (clarification): Any German unit that 
does not have a formation ID/FAM marker is an Independent unit. See 
the Unit ID on the Players’ Aid Sheet that illustrates how a German unit’s 
formation and corresponding FAM are shown. 
 
Section 7.2 Soviet FAMs (clarification): All Soviet units are part of the 
same formation. There are no Independent Soviet units. 
 
Rule 7.5.2 (omission): In some printed copies, the second paragraph 
begins with “pted” and that should be “Disrupted”. 
 
Module 9.0 (correction): In some printed copies there is wording about 
white icons denoting independent units. Ignore it. 

 
 
The Map: 
 
(Historical Note): The river on the east side of the map is the 
Suknaya and the one on the west side is the Bystraya. 
 
 
The Counters: 
 
Soviet FAM Markers (correction): In some copies of the game, the 
five red Soviet FAM markers were back-printed with the label 
DISrupted instead of FAM. These are still the Soviet FAM markers, 
toss them in the opaque container and use them as is. You can also 
paste the FAM images below on the reverse sides. 
 

 
 
 


