
 
A Dark and Bloody Ground 

Addenda as of May 18th, 2017 
 
The Map 
(correction): What is labeled as “Clear” terrain on the campaign 
theater map should be labeled “Wilderness” (to match the Battle 
Board maps). 

 
The Counters 
(correction): Leader “Harmer“ should be “Harmar.” (a corrected 
counter was supplied in ATO issue #9) 

 
The Charts 
8.0 Native American Mobilization Charts (change): During the 
Mobilization Phase the Native American player determines if a 
nation Mobilizes by rolling a die and modifying the DR as follows: 
DRM Condition 
-1 For each area with a village unit within a nation’s area. 
(Note: Other modifiers are unchanged) 

 
The Rules 
4.7 Sequence of Play, End Phase (correction): Pillage markers 
are removed during the End Phase of a Fall Turn (not Winter). 
 
8.1 Native American Mobilization (change): During the Mobili-
zation Phase the NA player determines if a nation mobilizes and 
goes on the warpath by rolling a die and applying any modifiers 
listed on the NA Mobilization Chart. 
• If the modified die roll is greater than or equal to the nation’s 

current Mobilization Level (already modified starting MLs are 
listed in each scenario), the nation has gone on the warpath. 
Turn all of its Warriors and Leaders right side up.  Any and all 
Warriors of that nation not in a British fort may be freely rede-
ployed to the area with the mobilized nation’s Leader. 

• If the modified die roll is less than the nation’s current 
Mobilization Level, it remains peaceful (Leaders and Warriors 
stay face down). 

• If the modified die roll result is 0 or less the nation surrenders 
and all of its Warriors and Leaders are removed from the 
game. 

Exception: Any Warriors at a BR fort will remain in play until the 
end of the next Fall turn if a nation surrenders.  Until then these 
Warriors have a Mobilization Level of 0. 
Whether a nation mobilizes or not, the final adjusted DR becomes 
the nation’s new base Mobilization Level on the track. 
 
8.1.1 Native American Mobilization Level Maximums (addition): 
In each case, the modified die roll result for each nation is 
recorded on the nation’s Mobilization Level Track (printed on the 
map) for future reference during this turn. The nation’s ML reverts 
to its “base” level (the black box printed on each nation’s ML track) 
at the beginning of each Spring turn.  Regardless of the number of 
mobilization die roll modifiers, a nation’s Mobilization Level cannot 
be higher than 5. 
Optional Rule: NA players desiring a bit more control over their 
nations can choose whether to add or subtract their tribal leader’s 
Command Rating to the DR or not when the overall Mobilization 
Check is made (after the DR is made). This may keep a tribe from 
going on the warpath at an insanely bad time. 
 
8.1.2 1 Native Mobilization Checks (correction): Add 1 (not sub-
ract) to a nation’s Mobilization DR for the first NA area a tres-
passing force enters, and +2 for the second time. 

8.5.2 US Reinforcements (clarification): Note that the Group B 
reinforcements identifies Kenton as a Kentucky leader who comes 
in with the Kentucky militia while his counter shows him as an Ohio 
leader. Kenton can command/stack with both the Ohio and Ken-
tucky militia. 
 
9.2.3 Assassinations (change): Assassinations may not be 
played against Tecumseh (his spy network was that good).  
Further, Tecumseh may add his Command Rating to any and all 
leader’s in the same area he is in (effectively raising all leader’s 
Command Rating by 1 for purposes of fending-off assassins). 
Also, change the Assassination DR to be 3 (not 2) more than the 
targeted leader’s Command Rating (i.e., a leader with a Command 
Rating of 3 would be assassinated only with a DR of 6).  
Note Post-publication play and commentary has revealed that 
assassinations are too easily carried out. These changes will 
effectively rule-out any assassination attempts with some NA 
leaders who are with Tecumseh. 
 
9.2.3.1 Moneto’s/Divine Intervention (optional rule). Roll the die 
for any leader that is the victim of an assassin. An even DR means 
the leader is indeed dead, VP for his demise is awarded, and the 
leader flipped to reveal his replacement. If the DR is odd, however, 
the leader is only wounded. The leader is placed a number of turns 
equal to the second DR to indicate when he has recuperated and 
is returned to play. No VP are awarded in this case. The Atrocity 
marker is still removed from play regardless of the assassination 
outcome. 
 
9.3.1 US Additional Activations (change): If it is an individual unit 
(no leader is required to be present) that wishes to complete a 
second activation, a DR less than or equal to the current US Com-
mitment Level must be made. Leaders may subtract their Com-
mand Rating from the second activation DR. 
 
9.3.2 Native American Activation (clarification): Warrior units 
may only attempt a second activation if stacked with a leader unit. 
The warrior(s) pass the check if they roll less than or equal to their 
nation’s current Mobilization Level as recorded on the track. Sub-
tract the leader’s Command Rating from the DR. 
 
9.4.2 Force Marching (clarification): Units pass forced march and 
attrition DR checks if they roll less than or equal to their nation’s 
current Commitment/Mobilization Level as recorded on the track. 
Subtract the leader’s Command Rating from the DR. 
 
9.4.5 Reaction Movement (optional rule): Units of either side may 
not conduct Reaction Movement into or through Pillaged areas. 
Regular movement (including forced marching) is allowed, how-
ever, through and into these areas. 
Note: This is another or those rules that got dropped during play 
testing. Having a hard time saying good-bye. 
Modify a unit’s Reaction Movement DR for each of the following 
that apply (in addition to those listed in Case 9.4.5): 
• +1 if Reaction Moved earlier 
• +1 if Forced March earlier 
 
9.5.3 Second Activation Pillaging (optional rule): Two or more 
undisrupted units with a leader may attempt to pillage the area in 
which they are located if the units pass a Forced March DR (Case 
9.4.2). The leader’s Command Rating can be used to modify the 
Forced March DR (as is normally the case) but NOT the subse-
quent Pillage DR (if the units do indeed activate a second time). 
Note: Use of this optional rule will slightly favor the US Player. 
 



10.1 Battle Sequence of Play (suggestion): Use the backs of the 
Season and Year markers to record rounds and impulses on the 
tracks. 
 
10.4 Battle Board Movement Impulse (clarification): If a unit 
cannot enter the battle board due to the presence of enemy units, 
it can instead enter at the closest unblocked hex, or can be with-
held by the owning player till a later round. Units may retreat/rout 
off the board voluntarily before 10 rounds are up (conceding VPs 
to the other side but still may be a useful thing if you have the 
short end of the stick). 
 
A routed unit may only stop its required movement if: 
1. It enters a hex with a friendly leader (allowing a chance to 

rally). Routed units may not remain in place if they start their 
Movement Phase stacked with a friendly leader, the leader 
may either move with them as they rout away (and attempt to 
rally them again) or let them go. 

2. It is required to stay in place by the presence of enemy units. 
If a routed unit can’t rout away from the enemy it instead just 
routs towards the furthest enemy unit (and make a Morale 
Check DR if it moves adjacent). 

 
Units may not voluntarily move off the battle board (only retreating 
or routed units may do so). Note: Delete the word “voluntarily” 
from the first line of Section 10.7. 
 
10.4.1 Battle Board Stacking (addition): Retreating units may 
over-stack (since stacking is checked at the end of movement 
impulse). If such units retreat into a hex being fired upon or under-
going melee combat, such units have no effect on the action but 
suffer any results inflicted upon the hex. 
 
10.5.2 Fire Combat Resolution (addition): A natural DR of “6” is 
always a miss, regardless of modifiers. The first time a unit is hit 
becomes Disrupted. Rotate Disrupted units 180 degrees away for 
the enemy to indicate this status (there is no facing in battles. 
Note: Disrupted counters were provided in issue 9 of ATO). 
Optional Rule: Add an additional +1 DRM for each hex over one 
the target is from the firing unit. 
 
10.5.3 Leader loss in Fire Combat (clarification): For each leader 
in the hex, the owning player rolls a die once (no matter how many 
hits by Fire Combat that were inflicted). 
 

10.6.1 Melee Combat Resolution (addition): The owning player 
chooses which units are lost in melee combat. 
 
10.6.2 Leader loss in Melee Combat (clarification): For each 
leader, the owning player rolls a die once (no matter what the 
outcome of the melee). 
 
10.7.4 Leader Cowardice (optional rule): Any area that a leader is 
in following a battle and there are no good-order (undisrupted or 
routed only) units as "survivors" the leader must make a ML/CL die 
roll. If the leader fails and it is an even DR he is cashiered in 
dishonor and disgrace. If the DR is odd he is captured (and if US, 
later burned at the stake!) and out of the game. There would be 
VP award to the opponent in this case. A successful DR means 
the leader stays in the game and he has successfully transferred 
blame to his subordinates! 
 
12.0.3 Raid Resolution Results Table (optional rule): Have any 
and all militia and warrior units that are subject to elimination make 
a Commitment/ Mobilization DR to determine whether or not they 
survive.  Add 1 to the DR for militia units in a raid that succeeded. 
Add 1 to the DR for warrior units in a raid that failed. 
Note: Presently only the second such militia/warrior units must 
make a Commitment/Mobilization DR check, and this is un-
modified. This DR was one that did not survive the playtest/ 
development process as we wanted to reduce the amount of 
“wristage” in the game. 
 
15.1.2 Native American Set Up (addition): Both the Miami and 
Shawnee Mobilization Levels are 3. Shawnee and Miami warrior 
units that do not begin the game set up on the map become 
available in the Spring of 1791 at any of the respective tribal areas 
not pillaged or settled by the US player. All other Native American 
units from the other nations begin in their tribal areas. 
 
15.2.1 US Player Set Up (correction): There should indeed only 
be only twelve and not fourteen Militia units that are part of the US 
player’s at-start forces (as stated, four Pennsylvania, four Ohio, 
five Kentucky, and one Virginia,). There is no Leader Hardin. 
Ignore any references to this Leader. 
 
16.2.1 US Player Set Up (correction): The twelve Militia units that 
are part of the US player’s at-start forces are composed of four 
Kentucky, three Pennsylvania, one Virginia and four Ohio. 
 
 



A Dark and Bloody Ground 
Some Questions and Answers 

 
Q. What happens if a routed unit can’t rout away from the enemy – 
does it just rout towards the furthest enemy unit (and make a 
morale DR if it moves adjacent)? 
 
A. Exactly.  Routed units do so immediately and that does count 
as their movement for the turn. Until the unit is rallied it can only 
move as a routed unit 
 
Q. Should the last modifier to the US commitment level chart really 
be "if all NA nations, or all BUT one, are peaceful"? 
 
A. No, the note is correct as written. In the former case the Ohio 
region is considered by Congress to be reasonably under control 
and there are just a few malcontents stirring up trouble. In the 
latter case the region is aflame from nearly one end to another and 
serious doubts are arising back in New York.  In both instances the 
-2 DRM applies.  
 
Q. The scenario setups seem woefully incomplete, with stuff 
hidden in 8.5 and 14.0. Is McKee assumed to start all scenarios in 
play, despite not appearing in the setup charts. 
 
 McKee’s set up is given in 15.1, 15.2 and 15.3.  He’s also there 
for 16.1, 16.2 and 16.3.  Since he starts in 15.1 he also starts in 
the campaign game per the campaign game’s set up instructions. 
 
Q. Units that force march can become disrupted. Disruption only 
has an effect if these units subsequently enter combat, right? And 
when does the disruption go away if the units DON'T enter 
combat? 
 
A. Disruption is removed after the end of all combats in the 
Combat Phase (in the rule), or during the End Phase, whichever 
applies (in turns with no battles for example for the latter case). 
Disruption reduces units MP by 1 and also their CF by 1, so it 
would apply throughout the rest pf the turn for activations and 
skirmishes 
 
Q. Rule 11.2.1 says something about MCFs. I couldn't find 
anything about it (and had to look hard to find out what FCFs were, 
for that matter).  
 
A. MCF = Melee Combat Factor 

 
 
 
 
Q. Please define what a "friendly" area is in the rules.  
 
A. For the US player a friendly area would be one with a Village in 
it.  For the NA player this would be an area that is part of an un-
surrendered nation that is not pillaged and/or occupied by US 
combat units or forts. 
 
Q. The last sentence of rule 9.2 says "Players may not place 
atrocity markers upon themselves (to spur mobilization, for 
example). Yet, in a subsequent comment on-line, the designer 
suggested the above was perfectly legal. 
 
A. The rule is correct. The NA player cannot place his atrocity units 
in his areas as per the rule to drive up the chances of going on the 
warpath. Neither player can assassinate/ambush his own 
units/leaders. The US player can place them on areas not under 
his control (i.e. without a village) to “head off” a raid. This is 
allowed and a very Machiavellian, risky gambit. Go for it 
 
Q. What, exactly, constitutes an "invasion" for rule 8.1.2? I assume 
settlers don't count. And how does the "subtract 1 for each 
trespassing force" work? 
 
A. An invasion occurs whenever a US combat unit (militia or 
regular) enters a nation’s area.  The first time a unit/force 
trespasses into a peaceful nation’s area there would be a -1 DRM. 
If the nation remains at peace and a second area is trespassed by 
the same force, or another force trespasses during a later 
activation, there would be a -2 DRM.  This proceeds with 
increasingly adverse DRM till the turn ends or the warriors and 
chiefs exclaim ENOUGH! and hit the warpath. 
 
Q. Please clarify how the US reinforcements enter. 8.5.2 isn't all 
that clear. I assume the player can just say "I'll take group A" and 
pay the VP penalty (hidden in the example below), any spring turn, 
with no particular conditions required. Is that right? 
 
A. The Spring turn is the first turn of the year, so the first time 
Group A can arrive is the Spring of 1791.  Group B, assuming 
Group A was taken in 1791 could then arrive in the Spring of 1792. 
Pay any applicable VP penalties as outlined in the rule. 
 


